About International Rough Set Society (IRSS)

International Rough Set Society (IRSS) is a non-profit organisation intended as a forum for contacts and exchange of information between members of scientific community whose research is related to the Rough Set Theory.


The International Rough Set Society (IRSS) was reorganized in 2005.

The latest IRSS Constitution and Bylaws were approved in 2020.

They are available for download in PDF format.



The list of candidates for IRSS 2022 Election.


Vice-president: Chris Cornelis, Hung Son Nguyen
Secretary: Hong Yu
Advisory Committee (AB) Chair: Davide Ciucci
Steering Committee (SC) Chair: Tianrui Li

PhD School Chair: Piotr Artiemjew, Xiaodong Yue


Voting time: January 16 - February 5 (UTC/GMT +1)



Former IRSS Presidents


  1. Tsau Young Lin (USA) - Founding President
  2. Andrzej Skowron (Poland)
  3. Shusaku Tsumoto (Japan)
  4. Wojciech Ziarko (Canada)
  5. Roman Słowiński (Poland)
  6. Dominik Ślęzak (Poland)
  7. Guoyin Wang (China)
  8. Yiyu Yao (Canada)
  9. Davide Ciucci (Italy)